In the history of Detroit, a special place will be reserved for Charles C. Vincent, MD. Dr. Vincent dedicated his life to the betterment of his community and the profession of medicine. Dr. Charles Vincent believed that physicians should, “Serve the people,” a principle he demonstrated in his own life. After receiving his medical education at Wayne State University, he completed his internship and residency at Detroit hospitals. As a practicing obstetrician and gynecologist, Dr. Vincent became a tireless advocate for the health and well being of the Detroit community. His special interest was the plight of the pregnant children, sometimes as young as twelve. With guidance to these individual patients, he hoped to stop further pregnancies.

Even though Doctor Vincent passed away more than 20 years ago, his legacy continues.  After his death, close friends and colleagues gathered to decide what Charlie would want to honor his memory. The Charles C. Vincent, MD, Memorial Scholarship was established to be presented annually to a Wayne State University Medical student; preferably a resident of Metropolitan Detroit with a demonstrated academic excellence and a financial need.

The first scholarship was presented in June of 2000. It is the hope of the Wayne County Medical Society Foundation that this scholarship will continue for many years to come to provide our community with new physicians that will carry on Charlie’s ideals. 
Melanie Robinson –                2000
Victoria Frosh –                       2001
Adrian Smith –                        2002
Ebere Azumah –                      2005
LaKesha Blaire-Watson –       2008
Brian Jackson –                       2009
Erica Louden –                        2010
Lauren Davis –                        2011
Jasmine Gaines –                    2012
Jannel Lee-Allen –                   2013
Amber Peden –                        2014
Reginald Ramirez –                 2015
Antonio E. Smith –                  2016
Matthew Johnson –                 2017
William Dailey –                     2018
Shafi Hamid –                         2019 
Lawrence Berry-                      2020


Charles C. Vincent, MD Scholarship